top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloyd, Clayton, or John

October 11, 2020 - Psalm 23

King James Version

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name's sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.


New International Version - A psalm of David. The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside quiet waters, He refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely Your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

The Message God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing. You have bedded me down in lush meadows, You find me quiet pools to drink from. True to Your word, You let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction. Even when the way goes through Death Valley, I’m not afraid when You walk at my side. Your trusty shepherd’s crook makes me feel secure. You serve me a six-course dinner right in front of my enemies. You revive my drooping head; my cup brims with blessing. Your beauty and love chase after me every day of my life. I’m back home in the House of God for the rest of my life.


Complete Jewish Bible Adonai is my shepherd; I lack nothing. He has me lie down in grassy pastures, He leads me by quiet water, He restores my inner person. He guides me in right paths for the sake of His own name. Even if I pass through death-dark ravines, I will fear no disaster; for You are with me; Your rod and staff reassure me. You prepare a table for me, even as my enemies watch; You anoint my head with oil from an overflowing cup. Goodness and grace will pursue me every day of my life; and I will live in the house of Adonai for years and years to come.


Easy-to-Read Version The Lord is my shepherd. I will always have everything I need. He gives me green pastures to lie in. He leads me by calm pools of water. He restores my strength. He leads me on right paths to show that he is good. Even if I walk through a valley as dark as the grave, I will not be afraid of any danger, because you are with me. Your rod and staff comfort me. You prepared a meal for me in front of my enemies. You welcomed me as an honored guest. My cup is full and spilling over. Your goodness and mercy will be with me all my life, and I will live in the Lord’s house a long, long time.


John (me)

The Creator of the Universe, of all that is seen and unseen, of all that is known and unknown, has Himself, personally, accepted me into His family. I am astounded by the unwavering fact that I have never not had everything I have needed for life and that is still true to this very day. He builds into my busy human routine, times when I must stop and just - stop... When I am overwhelmed, He quiets my anxious spirit. He renews my ability to make it further on the journey. He saved my very soul by bringing me to a home church that has taught me who He is both in spoken word and lives lived as an example in front of a kid who wouldn't have even known who God is without them. When I was/am scared by the darkness of night or fearful of dying, He reminded(s) me that I am His and so I'm not alone - He is still right there. He was and remains the Father I didn't get to have here on earth including the discipline and love that a Good, Good Father shows a son whom he loves. The shame that I brought and bring on myself and the shame and lies about me that I believed in the past and sometimes still believe from the one bent on my destruction wasn't enough and isn't enough to separate me from the kind of intimate fellowship that only comes when one shares a meal with a member of the family. And, for that matter, The Lord "rubs it in the enemy's face" that the relationship is preserved. You, Lord, cover me on all sides, I'm silenced at the thought. Because of the goodness and mercy that I have never earned and never been without, my eternity is set and I have forever home not built by human hands, established before the foundation of the world.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

October 29, 2020 - God Has This!

“Unless the Lord builds the house, They labor in vain who build it; unless the Lord guards the city, The watchman stays awake in vain. It is vain for you to rise up early, To sit up late, To eat the b

October 28, 2020 - God is Always Watching!

“The Lord shall preserve you from all evil; He shall preserve your soul. The Lord shall preserve your going out and your coming in from this time forth, and even forevermore.” Psalm 121:7-8 Wow! What

October 27, 2020 - God Will Always Be With You

“The Lord is your keeper; The Lord is your shade at your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night...” Psalm 121:5-6 As I think for a moment, God provided for everyone in

bottom of page