top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloyd, Clayton, or John

October 13, 2020

“Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin. For I acknowledge my

 transgressions, and my sin is ever before me. Against You, You only have I sinned, and done this evil in Your sight, . . . “ Psalm 51:2-4b


For years I’ve heard many people tell me, “Preacher, as soon as I get my life cleaned-up, then I’ll get right with God.” The problem is they never seem to get their lives cleaned up. Self help only gets you to self. Self is what got you in trouble in the first place.


David had asked God to show him mercy and now he ask that the LORD “wash” him completely. David understood that it was the LORD alone who could “clean-up” the mess that he had made. He needed the LORD to wash him thoroughly, to completely cleanse him from sin.


Notice that King David never once made excuses. He didn’t shift the blame to someone else. He took responsibility for his actions. His sin was every present before him. David said that his “sin” was against God alone. That demonstrates the true nature of sin disobedience against God. David didn’t try to justify his sin. He knew that his ONLY Hope was confession and repentance.


Beloved, sin is serious. We cannot argue our case in God’s court, for we are all guilty. Our only defense is to fall down and throw ourselves on the mercy of the court. Let’s ask the LORD to cleanse us from ALL of our sin. Let’s tell others that mercy is available in Jesus.


- Pray for the Nation

- Pray for Revival

- Pray for Evangelists

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

October 29, 2020 - God Has This!

“Unless the Lord builds the house, They labor in vain who build it; unless the Lord guards the city, The watchman stays awake in vain. It is vain for you to rise up early, To sit up late, To eat the b

October 28, 2020 - God is Always Watching!

“The Lord shall preserve you from all evil; He shall preserve your soul. The Lord shall preserve your going out and your coming in from this time forth, and even forevermore.” Psalm 121:7-8 Wow! What

October 27, 2020 - God Will Always Be With You

“The Lord is your keeper; The Lord is your shade at your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night...” Psalm 121:5-6 As I think for a moment, God provided for everyone in

bottom of page