top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloyd, Clayton, or John

October 6, 2020 - Don't Be Yelling Stuff Out That Window!

…He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Psalm 23:3b

OOPS, I got this verse out of the Psalm 23 order - sorry ya'll...


“Don’t be yelling stuff or throwing stuff out the windows – the name of the church is on the side of this bus! It makes Leawood look bad! They (the people outside of the bus) don’t see who you are but they do see the big white bus with the church’s name on it!” I say this often when I take the kids anywhere on the bus – almost every time, especially when I notice them about to do that stuff. But why do I do that? Do I want to remind them of my authority over them? Do I want them to not have any fun on the bus ride? Do I merely want to teach them manners? Not really any of these things. These are all things I do want to have happen but my bigger point is to gently remind them who they represent when we’re out in the world (away from the church building). They don’t only represent themselves, but God, His church, their parents, me, etc.

This is the sentiment that David is acknowledging when he writes those lines. He seems to be telling God thanks for guiding me along the way and being willing to give me good life instruction because I know You’re doing it so that the glory You get is the correct glory that You deserve. He wanted to remain a man after God’s own heart and not his own reputation. He seemed to know that the path of “rightness” would only be successfully navigated with the help of God. It’s all for His name’s sake and not our own – what good would us getting glory do? As followers of Christ, we’re to remember that we represent Him.

Pastor, Dr. John MacArthur says this on the subject: “What becomes of our boasting? It is excluded” (Rom. 3:27). Every aspect of our salvation is wrought by divine grace—so much so that even the good things we do as redeemed people are works that “God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them” (Eph. 2:10). Thus, the Great Shepherd sovereignly leads us in paths of righteousness.

However, while Scripture places much emphasis on God’s absolute sovereignty in the work of salvation, it never excludes or downplays human responsibility. The Shepherd leads, but the sheep are not passive. They follow Him, as is their duty. They may stumble or meander at times, but they know the true Shepherd and are known by Him, so they will never depart from Him completely. In Jesus’ words, “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me” (John 10:27).


Their own righteous walk is one of the key evidences that they belong to the Good Shepherd. They are not saved by their righteous walk, but their righteous walk proves that God has saved them.

And here’s the ultimate proof that their faith in the Great Shepherd is authentic: they persevere. Those who depart from the paths of righteousness never to return did not belong to the Shepherd in the first place.”

Let’s remember the sheep and that we are sheep - the sheep of His pasture. We are His flock.

- Lord, thank you for Your willingness to lead us, and lead us well.

- Thank you for being a part of our lives.

- Help us to remember to lean on the ways You are leading us so that we represent well!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

October 29, 2020 - God Has This!

“Unless the Lord builds the house, They labor in vain who build it; unless the Lord guards the city, The watchman stays awake in vain. It is vain for you to rise up early, To sit up late, To eat the b

October 28, 2020 - God is Always Watching!

“The Lord shall preserve you from all evil; He shall preserve your soul. The Lord shall preserve your going out and your coming in from this time forth, and even forevermore.” Psalm 121:7-8 Wow! What

October 27, 2020 - God Will Always Be With You

“The Lord is your keeper; The Lord is your shade at your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night...” Psalm 121:5-6 As I think for a moment, God provided for everyone in

bottom of page