top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloyd, Clayton, or John

October 9, 2020 - Who’s That Following Me?

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life... Psalm 23:6a


When I was a kid I was a member of the Boys Club in the neighborhood. I was 12 when I joined and walked home for many years before I started driving and on the days when I didn’t get rides. It was about a mile from my house. The neighborhood seemed to be a scary place for a junior high kid so needless to say I walked very fast. Nothing ever happened and I attribute that to the Lord walking with me. It was the fear of both the unknown and the fear of the perceived known that had me in their grip. I was driven by the belief that if I can just make it home, everything will be ok. That belief proved true every time. When I think back on those days, I can say that those fears never subsided. They stayed the whole time.


Not being in fear, however, is what David has been talking about and as he wraps up this set of passages, he acknowledges the lifelong presence in his life of the goodness and mercy of his great shepherd.


David’s awareness and gratitude is to be the follower of Christ’s, also. We have never been left or forsaken. I was never really alone even though I felt very alone on those walks. There are days even now when I feel alone on my journey home. But, I know, yes indeed I know, that His goodness and mercy is surely with me guarding me from behind and moving me forward and when I do arrive at the place where I will dwell, it’ll be The Shepherds House and it’ll be forever.


I have never done this before - mostly because pre-COVID, we’ve done strictly print media - but if you have about 5 more minutes, click on this link for a music video: https://youtu.be/Mo3HgtT_OiE and, if not right now, come back and watch/listen another day.


  • Lord, thank You for Your constant presence even when I didn’t know it was there.

  • Thank You, Lord for keeping me close all the days of my life.

  • Lord, give me words of encouragement for someone, maybe even today.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

October 29, 2020 - God Has This!

“Unless the Lord builds the house, They labor in vain who build it; unless the Lord guards the city, The watchman stays awake in vain. It is vain for you to rise up early, To sit up late, To eat the b

October 28, 2020 - God is Always Watching!

“The Lord shall preserve you from all evil; He shall preserve your soul. The Lord shall preserve your going out and your coming in from this time forth, and even forevermore.” Psalm 121:7-8 Wow! What

October 27, 2020 - God Will Always Be With You

“The Lord is your keeper; The Lord is your shade at your right hand. The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night...” Psalm 121:5-6 As I think for a moment, God provided for everyone in

bottom of page