top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloyd, Clayton, or John

Thursday - April 2, 2020 - People Are Looking!

Updated: Apr 4, 2020

April 2, 2020

To Timothy, my true son in the faith. 1 Timothy 1:2a

As a person who has worked with teenagers and college students some thirty plus years now, the relationship of Paul to Timothy has been acutely on my mind since the beginning. All these years later, as I am still not married and therefore have no sons myself, I am none the less reminded that I often have young eyes on me a lot of the time. They are watching and considering, based on me. It’s a scary thought but, also, one that humbles and honors me at the same time. I know who and what I am and I’m thoughtful that God has put me in a position to be watched. (Sometimes it’d be easier to just be a regular person) Oh, wait, once we become followers of Christ, we all become positioned to be watched – at least by someone.


It’s true and inescapable. The world is watching - if not the world, then at least someone who is in our daily or weekly life. We do have someone in our life that knows we call ourselves “Christian” even if it’s only in our immediate family. They know we come to Leawood each week for “Christian” reasons. They are, in fact, watching. To see how we’ll re-act, to see how we’ll act, to see how we make decisions, to see how we handle adversity and conflict. They watch to see how we handle good times and prosperity and what or who we’ll give credit to or take credit from.


We do have “disciples”, so to speak, whether purposefully or passively. Someone is watching and following. Let us be mindful to stay close to God and ask Him to guide us as we may be guiding someone else whether we know it or not.

Pray for the Staff as we look to them for guidance in our lives.

Pray for an awareness that people are watching.

Pray for the volunteer leaders at Leawood.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Friday - April 30, 2020

April 30, 2020 “O Timothy, guard what has been entrusted to you, avoiding worldly and empty chatter and the opposing arguments of what is falsely called “knowledge”— which some have professed and thus

Wednesday - April 29, 2020 - How to Have True Riches

April 29, 2020 “Instruct those who are rich in this present world not to be conceited or to fix their hope on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly supplies us with all things to enjoy.” I

Tuesday - April 28, 2020 - The Love of Money

April 28, 2020 "For the love of money is the root of all sorts of evil, and some by longing for it have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs." 1 Timothy 6:10 We’ve hear

bottom of page