top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloyd, Clayton, or John

November 10, 2020 - Surrounded Praise

David appointed some of the Levites to be ministers before the ark of the Lord, to celebrate the Lord God of Israel, and to give thanks and praise to Him. 1 Chronicles 16:4

Our youth group has as one of their favorite songs, “Surrounded (Fight My Battles)” by Elyssa Smith. Some of the lyrics are: “[Verse 2] In the valley I know that You're with me and surely Your goodness and mercy follow me. So my weapons are praise and thanksgiving.

This is how I fight my battles. [Pre-Chorus] and I believe You've overcome and I will lift my song of praise for what You've done. [Chorus] This is how I fight my battles - This is how I fight my battles… [Bridge] It may look like I'm surrounded but I'm surrounded by You. It may look like I'm surrounded but I'm surrounded by You…”

Did you catch that? Praise and thanksgiving are battle weapons! How? They are usually spoken or declared. Maybe David placed them in front of the Ark as it traveled for that reason. When solider marches into battle it’s because he’s following orders – he may not even agree with the orders. When the Christian marches into battle, it’s because of love and adoration to the Lord, not mere duty. Praise and thanksgiving on the lips of a devoted follower of Christ is a powerful weapon and the prophet Isaiah declared that no weapon formed would prevail against the Christian.

Is your praise and thanksgiving battle ready?


- Pray for the sick who need to be healed

- Pray for the lost who need to be saved

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November 24, 2020

“He who offers a sacrifice of thanksgiving honors Me; And to him who orders his way aright I shall show the salvation of God.” Psalm 50:23 When we hear the word “sacrifice” we think of some painful lo

November 22, 2020

“Enter His gates with thanksgiving, and His courts with praise. Be thankful to Him, and bless His name. For the LORD is good; His mercy is everlasting, and His truth endures to all generations.” Psalm

November 23, 2020

"I will praise the name of God with song. And magnify Him with thanksgiving.” Psalm 69:30 One of my earliest memories of church is standing between my Mom and Dad as they held the hymnal and sang with

bottom of page