top of page
  • Writer's pictureFloyd, Clayton, or John

November 30, 2020

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” 1 Thessalonians 4:16-18


Several years ago, I received a call from a friend about a fellow minister who had also lost his wife. My friend asked me to call this brother because it appeared to everyone that he was struggling. So, I called him to check on him. We were friends so we immediately got to the point. He admitted that he was struggling with “everything,” from the loss of his wife to his faith in God. When I asked him why his faith was in question, he replied, “How can I rejoice that my wife of 35 years is gone? How can I thank God for taking my wife?”


Being a widower, I fully understand the “loss” aspect of losing a mate. I explained, “I don’t rejoice in the loss, I rejoice in the 26 years, 6 months, and 16 days that I was blessed to be Penne’s husband. I thank God for the two wonderful children that we share. I praise the Lord that He taught me about love with my wonderful wife. I’d rather rejoice over what I had than to focus on what I lost.”


He asked me, “Aren’t you angry with God for taking Penne so soon?” I replied, “Not at all. The Lord has never done anything to hurt me. He has always done everything to bless me and my family. Why would I doubt that now? I’ve not ‘lost’ my wife, I know exactly where she is. She’s in heaven.”


Beloved, the Lord did not say everything was going to be good, but He did say we should rejoice in everything. Thank the Lord for everything.


- Pray for those who are grieving

- Pray for those in the hospital and feel alone because of COVID

- Pray for the Home-bound who might not be able to receive visitors

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

November 29, 2020

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your he

November 28, 2020

“Continue earnestly in prayer, being vigilant in it with thanksgiving;” Colossians 4:2 We live in a fast-paced society. Everyone is traveling more and farther than we used to travel. We have learned t

November 27, 2020

“I will give thanks to the LORD with all my heart; I will tell of all Your marvelous works.” Psalm 9:1 Growing-up my older brother and I had a favorite past time: aggravating each other. We usually en

bottom of page